Assemblyman Prieto selected to serve as next Speaker
Nov 07, 2013 | 2121 views | 0 0 comments | 102 102 recommendations | email to a friend | print
HUDSON COUNTY -- The incoming Assembly Democratic Majority on Thursday, Nov. 7 chose Vincent Prieto of Secaucus to serve as the new Assembly Speaker.

Prieto will become the 215th Assembly Speaker on Jan. 14, when the chamber reorganizes.

The Secaucus resident will preside over the 80-member General Assembly. Democrats have held the majority since 2002.

“I am humbled and honored to receive the support of the Assembly Democratic majority,” Prieto said. “ … I am excited by the opportunity ahead.”

Prieto (D-Hudson/Bergen) will succeed Sheila Oliver (D-Essex/Passaic), who served as Speaker since 2010.

Prieto was first sworn into the New Jersey General Assembly in 2004. He became Assembly Budget chairman in 2012.

He represents the 32nd Legislative District, which includes the Hudson County municipalities of East Newark, Guttenberg, Harrison, Kearny, North Bergen, Secaucus, and West New York.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet