Answer: Rule remains in effect whether ball is caught or dropped. Runners are required to tag up if ball is caught in order to advance. (BB – Rule 2, Sec. 19; Rule 8-4-1(c); SB – Rule 2, Sec. 30; Rule 8-4-1(c))
Question: Runners on third and first; less than two outs; batter lofts a high fair fly ball to the infield. Is the infield fly rule in effect?
Answer: No; there must be two consecutive force play situations in effect. In this play, there is only one force play in effect at second base. (BB – Rule 2, Sec. 19; SB – Rule 2, Sec. 30)