Net play
Oct 17, 2012 | 623 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print

Question: In high school volleyball, can a front row player on the receiving team block a serve?


Answer: This is not a legal action by Team R, hence an over-the-net fault is called with loss of rally/point awarded to serving Team S (Rule 9, Sec. 6, Art. 5, Pen.).


Question: With the ball completely on the receiving team’s (Team R’s) side of the net, there is simultaneous contact of ball by Team R’s attacker and serving team’s (Team S’s) blocker. Legal net play?


Answer: This is considered an over-the-net fault by Team S because Team R must have initial chance to contact the ball. Loss of rally/point is awarded to Team R (Rule 9, Sec. 6, Art. 4b).

Comments
(0)
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet