Ballot positions set for Jersey City municipal election
Mar 19, 2013 | 7824 views | 1 1 comments | 15 15 recommendations | email to a friend | print
City Clerk Robert Byrne with the official 2013 ballot, as determined by a drawing Monday at City Hall.
City Clerk Robert Byrne with the official 2013 ballot, as determined by a drawing Monday at City Hall.

JERSEY CITY – Ballot positions have been set for the upcoming municipal election in Jersey City.

At City Hall on Monday, one by one, City Clerk Robert Byrne pulled the names of the 39 candidates who have been certified to run for mayor and nine seats on the City Council.

Mayoral candidates will be listed under Column A on the ballot. At-large candidates will be listed under Column B. Column C has been set aside for candidates running for the council’s six ward seats.


Among the mayoral candidates, Jerry Walker will be in position 1A, Mayor Jerramiah T. Healy will be in position 3A, Councilman Steven Fulop will be in 5A, and Abdul Malik will be in 7A.

Council at large

Among the at-large candidates, Healy Team candidates Peter Brennan, Viola Richardson, and Omar Perez will be in positions 1B, 2B, and 3B, respectively. Ramon “Ray” Regalado and Sean Connely, who are running on Walker’s slate, will be in positions 5B and 6B, respectively. Team Fulop at-large candidates Joyce Watterman, Daniel Rivera, and Rolando Lavarro Jr. will be in positions 8B, 9B, and 10B, respectively.

Wards A through F

Among the Ward A candidates, Frank Gajewski will be in position 1C, Charles Epps Jr. has position 3C, Ricky Johnson has position 5C, Jayson Burg has position 7C, and Lori Hennessey has slot 9C.

In Ward B, Chris Gadsen is in position 1C, Khemraj “Chico” Ramchal is in position 3C, Gerald Meyers was assigned position 5C, Esther Wintner is in slot 7C, and Jesus Tosado is in position 9C.

For the Ward C candidates, Adela Rohena is in position 1C, Janet Chevres is in position 3C, Richard Boggiano is in 5C, Imtiaz Syed is in position 7C, and Nidia Lopez is in slot 9C.

In Ward D, candidates were assigned the following positions: Sean Connors, 1C; Mario Gonzales, 3C; Michael Yun, 5C; and Grace Giron, 7C.

With only three people running in Ward E, this downtown ward has the least cluttered field of candidates. Fletcher Gensamer was assigned position 1C on Monday. Dan Levin was assigned 3C. Candice Osborne was assigned position 5C.

Finally, in Ward F, Jermaine Robinson was assigned position 1C. Kenny Reyes was assigned position 3C. Chantal Snow is in position 5C. Diane Coleman is in slot 7C. Deborah King’s name will be found in position 9C.

While the large number of City Council may seem to make the ballot daunting for voters to navigate, Byrne emphasized that residents will receive tailored ballots, depending on where they live.

“Remember, depending on where you live, you’re only going to see the candidates for mayor, the at-large candidates, and the candidates running for your ward,” said Byrne. “You’re not going to see the candidates running in the other wards.”

Several candidates, including Levin, Robinson, Burg, and Malik, were on hand to watch the drawing of the names in person.

The municipal election will be held Tuesday, May 14. – E. Assata Wright

Comments-icon Post a Comment
March 19, 2013
Hello Ms Wright,

My name is Chris Gadsden, I am a candidate for city council in Ward B. Later I would love to talk about the issues of this year's election, but first I'd like to get the spelling of my name corrected. My last name is Gadsden.

Thanks and be blessed.