Mayor-elect Fulop to hold first of three town hall meetings this Wednesday
Jun 03, 2013 | 4371 views | 0 0 comments | 26 26 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Jersey City Mayor-elect Steven Fulop
Jersey City Mayor-elect Steven Fulop

JERSEY CITY – Jersey City’s Mayor-elect Steven Fulop and his transition team are inviting feedback from residents regarding their top concerns and the issues they think the new administration should focus on first, in addition to their long-term goals and vision for the city.

Over the next two weeks Fulop and his transition team will host three town hall meetings throughout the city to solicit ideas and feedback from residents. The first of these meetings will take place this Wednesday, June 5, at 7 p.m. at City Hall, 280 Grove St.

A second meeting will follow next week on Thursday, June 13 at 7 the Bethune Life Center, 140 Martin Luther King Drive. The last of the town hall meetings will be held on Thursday, June 20 at 7 p.m. at the Christa McAuliffe School (PS 28), 167 Hancock Ave.

Fulop encourages residents who cannot attend one of these three meetings to offer their thoughts online at

According to Hudson County Freeholder William O’Dea, a co-chair of the Fulop transition team, there are roughly 40 people working with the mayor-elect on his transition. While the members of the full team have not been released, a spokesman for Fulop has released the names of 10 individuals who are serving as chair people of 11 transition subcommittees.

Henry Amoroso will chair the Budget and Financial Operations Review committee. Larry Mone will chair the Public Safety Operational Review committee. Eric Shuffler will chair Departmental Operations Review committee. School Board Trustee Sangeeta Ranade will head the Executive Recruitment subcommittee. Henry Plotkin will chair Workforce Development, Training, and Reentry committee. Attorney Jeremy Farrell will head the Real Estate/ Redevelopment/Business Climate-Outreach committee, in addition to the legal review committee. John Thieroff, who served as Fulop’s campaign director, will head up the Autonomous Authorities subcommittee. Elizabeth Cain will chair the Cultural Development and Tourism subcommittee. Superintendent of Schools Marcia Lyles will chair the Education and Recreation subcommittee. Newly-elected Ward E City Councilwoman Candice Osborne will chair the Information and Technology Initiatives subcommittee.

These 11 subcommittees coincide with 11 key target areas that Fulop has prioritized for his administration beginning next month. – E. Assata Wright

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet