New council sworn in in Jersey City; Lavarro nominated new council president; mayor to be sworn in Monday evening
Jul 01, 2013 | 3571 views | 0 0 comments | 121 121 recommendations | email to a friend | print

JERSEY CITY -- At a brief reorganization meeting held by the nine newly sworn in members of the City Council the council voted unanimously to appoint Rolando Lavarro Jr. as the new council president. The move came as little surprise, since Lavarro, who has been on the council for 19 months, is currently the longest serving council member.

Attorney Jeremy Farrell was also sworn in as the city's new corporation counsel.

Earlier, at a ceremony at City Hall, the new council members were sworn into office. The new City Council members are Frank Gajewski (Ward A); Khemraj "Chico" Ramchal (Ward B); Richard Boggiano (Ward C); Michael Yun (Ward D); Candice Osborne (Ward E); Diane Coleman (Ward F); Joyce Watterman (at-large); Daniel Rivera (at-large); and Lavarro.

The council's two independent members, Boggiano and Yun, abstained on the vote for Farrell.

Newly elected mayor Steven Fulop will be sworn in later this evening at a separate ceremony. The evening ceremony is scheduled to take place outside of City Hall. At present, there is no word as to whether the evening ceremony will be moved inside due to rain. -- E. Assata Wright

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet