It’s a clean sweep for Prep on Reporter All-Area Football
Hilliman, Conde, Hansen all earn postseason honors
Dec 15, 2013 | 5981 views | 0 0 comments | 54 54 recommendations | email to a friend | print
St. Peter’s Prep
Hudson Reporter Offensive Player of the Year and Most Valuable Player Jonathan Hilliman of St. Peter’s Prep
view slideshow (2 images)

Once again, St. Peter’s Prep was clearly the best football team in Hudson County in 2013 and it shows in the array of talent from the Marauders that were selected to the 2013 Hudson Reporter All-Area High School Football Team.

All totaled, 10 Marauders were selected to the All-Area squad, including a clean sweep of the postseason awards.

The Marauders, who went to the NJSIAA Non-Public Group 4 state final game last week before falling to Paramus Catholic, 13-7, at MetLife Stadium, saw senior running back Jonathan Hilliman come away with both the Offensive Player of the Year and the Most Valuable Player honors.

Hilliman broke the Prep single season rushing record by collecting 2,007 yards and scoring 31 touchdowns. Hilliman, who will be among the top freshman recruits next fall at Rutgers, displayed a balance of speed and power rarely seen in these parts. He leaves a legacy of being one of the finest all-around backs ever produced at Grand and Warren.

The Hudson Reporter Defensive Player of the Year was Marauder senior linebacker Almamy Conde, who amassed more than 100 tackles leading a very stingy Prep defensive unit.

No question, Conde will grace some college football roster next fall.

The Hudson Reporter Coach of the Year also goes to Prep’s Rich Hansen, who molded his Marauders to a 10-2 record and once again won the Hudson County Interscholastic Athletic League championship, remaining the premier program in the county for the 14th straight season.

Hansen has been the head coach at Grand and Warren for the last 26 years and has already carved his niche as one of the finest head football coaches in Hudson County history. He deserves to be recognized as the county’s premier coach this season.

In all, 10 players earned repeat honoree status on the All-Area squad.

They are: Dominick Trautz of North Bergen, D’Ondre Robinson of Marist, Devell Jones and Daisjon Robinson of Lincoln, DeShawn Reed of Hoboken, Sean Roesing of Secaucus, Devin Terry of St. Anthony and Armond Cox, Dave Tolentino and Hilliman of Prep. Tolentino was a defensive honoree last year and earns his nod this year along the offensive line.

It was a great year all around for Hudson County football, capped by Hoboken repeating as NJSIAA North Jersey Section 2, Group I champions. – Jim Hague

Jim Hague can be reached at

2013 Hudson Reporter All-Area High School Football Team


Quarterback-Brandon Wimbush, St. Peter’s Prep

Quarterback-Darius Wade, Lincoln

Quarterback-Dominick Trautz, North Bergen

Running Back-Jonathan Hilliman, St. Peter’s Prep

Running Back-Syheim Simmons, Hudson Catholic

Running Back-D’Ondre Robinson, Marist

Running Back-Tamaine Boyd, Union City

Running Back-Devell Jones, Lincoln

Wide Receiver-Jorge Ortez, Memorial

Wide Receiver-Minkah Fitzpatrick, St. Peter’s Prep

Wide Receiver-Daiquan Kelly, Union City

Wide Receiver-Tyrik Darby, Lincoln

Tight End-DeShawn Reed, Hoboken

Offensive Line-Robbie Walsh, St. Peter’s Prep

Offensive Line-Steven Gonzalez, Union City

Offensive Line-Dave Tolentino, St. Peter’s Prep

Offensive Line-Daniel Clifford, Hoboken

Offensive Line-David Allen, Union City

Kicker-Jorge Espinosa, Hudson Catholic


Defensive End-Rashad Brandon, St. Anthony

Defensive End-Roger Riera, Union City

Defensive End-Armond Cox, St. Peter’s Prep

Defensive Tackle-Daisjon Robinson, Lincoln

Defensive Tackle-Derrick Clifford, Bayonne

Defensive Tackle-Bryant Gilliard, Jr., Hudson Catholic

Linebacker-Almamy Conde, St. Peter’s Prep

Linebacker-Justin Walker, St. Peter’s Prep

Linebacker-Stephen Harper, Marist

Linebacker-Devin Terry, St. Anthony

Linebacker-Sean Roesing, Secaucus

Defensive Back-Corey Caddle, St. Peter’s Prep

Defensive Back-Donte Bass, Hoboken

Defensive Back-Shamir Bearfield, St. Peter’s Prep

Defensive Back-Oliver Milano, Weehawken

Punter-Alex Vidal, St. Anthony

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR- Jonathan Hilliman, St. Peter’s Prep

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR-Almamy Conde, St. Peter’s Prep

MOST VALUABLE PLAYER-Jonathan Hilliman, St. Peter’s Prep

COACH OF THE YEAR-Rich Hansen, St. Peter’s Prep

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet