Ask the Ump!
by Mike Lynch
Apr 12, 2017 | 1003 views | 0 0 comments | 12 12 recommendations | email to a friend | print

QUESTION: in high school baseball only, batter-runner hits an apparent inside the park home run but trips over third base. Coach assists runner to feet and gives a push as runner scores ahead of tag at plate. Legal action?

ANSWER: During this live ball play runner should have been called out immediately for coach physical assistance. If home run was over the fence, no penalty would be assessed due to four base award in dead ball play. (Rule 3, Sec. 2, Art. 2, Pen.)

QUESTION: In high school softball only, Jackson (substitute) enters game as a pinch hitter for Kelly. Neither Jackson nor the coach report the substitution to the plate umpire as Jackson singles. Defensive coach appeals batting out of order before next pitch to Lynn, the next batter. Is this batting out of order or a substitution violation? Is Jackson allowed to remain in game despite not being reported?

ANSWER: This is a substitution infraction; all subs and players must be reported. The penalty is a warning to head coach for first offense but sub is permitted to stay in game. For any subsequent infraction, head coach and offender will be restricted to bench / dugout for remainder of game. If in above play, it was the second violation with Jackson not reporting, Jackson would be removed from first base and restricted to bench. Another sub must report and take Jackson’s spot on first base. (Rule 3, Sec. 6, Art. 7, Penalty).

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet