Touching bases
May 19, 2010 | 3143 views | 0 0 comments | 261 261 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Question: In high school baseball and softball, baserunner misses homeplate and is on way to dugout during live ball play. Catcher has possession of ball and appeals missed plate; hence, baserunner attempts to retouch plate prior to entering dugout. Legal procedure by defense and offense?

Answer: During live ball, runner who misses home and desires to return must do so immediately. In above play, defense properly appealed and runner would be called out. If runner tried to return immediately, defense would have to tag out base runner. (BB – Rule 8, Sec. 2, Art. 5; SB – Rule 8-6-9)

Question: Runner on first base; batter hits foul fly ball, which is uncaught by right fielder. Runner had touched second base prior to foul ball becoming uncaught. Must runner retouch second upon return to first?

Answer: Runners are not required to retouch intervening bases due to uncaught foul ball (dead). Umpire will not make ball live until runners return to appropriate bases. (BB – Rule 8, Sec. 2, Art. 2; SB – Rule 8-3-2, exception)

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet