Ask the Ump!

ILLEGAL SUBSTITUTION

QUESTION: In high school, baseball only, Bailey is the designated hitter (DH) for outfielder Carroll. In the fourth inning, Carroll comes to bat in Bailey’s slot and strikes out. Carroll continues to play the outfield. Is this a legal substitution? Can Bailey re-enter as (DH) in same batting slot?
ANSWER: It is legal for Carroll to bat in Bailey’s slot; however, the role of designated hitter is terminated when defensive player assumes that spot in the order. When defensive player Carroll, for whom (Bailey) batted, subsequently bats, in the (DH) spot, Bailey is removed from the game and the (DH) slot is no longer available. Bailey retains re-entry status and may return to play defense and bat but only in Carroll’s original batting order position (BB- Rule 3, Sec. 1, Art. 4, a, b).
QUESTION: In high school, baseball and softball, Collins is the starting catcher who bats second in the order. Jackson replaces Collins in the fourth inning. In the sixth inning, Collins comes to bat in the eighth position where Davis bats. Defensive coach claims illegal substitution before a pitch is thrown. Is this batting out of order? Is Davis allowed at assume position without penalty? Is Collins called out?
ANSWER: During live ball, once Collins entered the box, he /she became an illegal offensive substitute. As coach brought it to umpire’s attention, Collins is declared out and restricted to bench. This is not batting out of order. Davis, the proper batter, would just skip a turn and the next proper batter shall bat (BB- Rule 2, Sec. 36, Art.3, b; 7-4-1, h and 8-4-1,k) (SB- Rule 3, Sec. 4, Art. 2, a, b, c, Penalty; Rule 2-57-3 and Rule 3-4-1).