Home Breaking News

Hoboken elects council and school board members

Mayor Bhalla with Board of Education winners

Hoboken residents elected six ward representatives to the Hoboken City Council and three Hoboken Board of Education Trustees.

In the First Ward, Councilman Michael DeFusco won against Team Bhalla’s Migdalia Pagan Milano with 66.14 percent of the vote.

In the Second Ward, Councilwoman Tiffanie Fisher won against Team Bhalla’s Nora Martinez DeBenedetto with 53.40 percent of the vote.

In the Third Ward, Councilman Michael Russo won against independent candidate Ronaldo Bautista with 67.14 percent of the vote.

In the Fourth Ward, Councilman Ruben Ramos won against Lisa Sprengle of Team Bhalla with 61.62 percent of the vote.

The only Team Bhalla candidate to win a seat on the council was Phil Cohen for the Fifth Ward. He beat independent candidates Nicola Maganuco and Timothy Crowell with 52.03 percent of the vote.

In the Sixth Ward, Councilwoman Jen Giattino won against Team Bhalla candidate Cristin Cricco-Powell and independent candidate Frank Rosner with 51.59 percent of the vote.

Of the five candidates for Hoboken Board of Education, Alex De La Torre, Joyce Simons, and Sheillah Dallara each won a three-year term on the school board with 24.42 percent, 22.79 percent, and 20.96 percent respectively.

Residents also voted overwhelmingly in favor of two referendums which would allow the city more flexibility in spending funds from the Open Space Trust Fund for park construction and add a $0.01 cent per $100 of assessed property value to the fund for historic preservation.

Exit mobile version