Home Breaking News

Hudson County remembers 9/11 on the 20th anniversary

Those who died have not been forgotten

The 9/11 Empty Sky Memorial in Jersey City, photo by Dev Chatterjee for Shutterstock

Across Hudson County, municipalities will hold 9/11 memorial services for 2021. Last year, the COVID-19 pandemic led to the cancellation of many planned events or reimagining as a “Tribute of Lights.”

This year, on the 20th anniversary of the terrorist attacks, municipalities are honoring the dead with traditional memorial services and other ceremonies.


Hoboken lost 56 residents, the most of any ZIP code outside of New York. But details about Hoboken’s 9/11 memorial event were not finalized at press time, which coincided with the city’s emergency response in the aftermath of the remnants of Hurricane Ida.

For an update, go to our website.

Jersey City

Jersey City will host its annual 9/11 remembrance ceremony at the city’s 9/11 memorial on Grand Street at the Hudson River Waterfront. The event starts at 8:30 a.m.

Jersey City lost 37 residents.

North Bergen

North Bergen will hold its ceremony at noon at its 9/11 memorial in Braddock Park near 90th Street and Bergenline Avenue.

Four North Bergen residents were killed: Christopher Amoroso, NBHS Class of 1990; Robert Cirri, NBHS Class of 1980; Sal Edward Tieri, NBHS Class of 1978; and David LaMagne.


Secaucus will hold its ceremony at 8:30 a.m. at its 9/11 memorial site at the Secaucus Public Library at 1379 Paterson Plank Road.

A plaque in front of the library is engraved with the names of the six Secaucus residents who died: Arlene Babakitis, Richard Cudina, Nancy Perez, Kenneth Simon, Steven Strobert, and Michael Tanner.

Four worked at Cantor Fitzgerald, which occupied the 101st to 105th floors of World Trade Center 1. No employee in the Cantor offices at the time of the attack survived.

North Hudson

Union City will hold its ceremony at 9 a.m. at its 9/11 memorial at Liberty Plaza at 30th Street and Palisade Avenue. Three Union City residents died: Gary Bright, Jorge Luis Leon, and Alejo Perez.

West New York will hold its ceremony at 8 a.m. at its 9/11 memorial at Donnelly Park at 60th Street and Boulevard East. Three West New York residents died: William Cashman, Michael Colbert, and Paul Eckna.

Weehawken will hold its ceremony at 8:30 a.m. at its 9/11 memorial in Port Imperial Linear Park at 1300 Port Imperial. Five Weehawken residents died: Juan Pablo Alvarez Cisneros, Eric Evans, Christopher Gray, Peter Klein, and Robert Vicario.

Guttenberg will hold its ceremony at 10 a.m. at Town Hall at 6808 Park Avenue. Two Guttenberg residents died: Rebecca Lee Koborie and Lt. Robert Cirri, a Port Authority Police Officer who was among the first responders who went into the North Tower.

For updates on this and other stories, check www.hudsonreporter.com and follow us on Twitter @hudson_reporter. Daniel Israel can be reached at disrael@hudsonreporter.com. Mark Koosau can be reached at mkoosau@hudsonreporter.com or his Twitter @snivyTsutarja.

Exit mobile version