New congressional map for New Jersey keeps status quo in Hudson County

The new congressional map for New Jersey keeps the districts in Hudson County more or less the same.

The new congressional map for New Jersey adopted by the state’s redistricting commission contains significant changes elsewhere in the Garden State, but Hudson County had only minor changes to the makeup of it’s districts.

The new map was enacted by the New Jersey Redistricting Commission following the 2020 Census last year. The commission consisted of six Democratic and Republican appointees and a tiebreaker that was selected by the state Supreme Court.

The tiebreaker, former state Supreme Court Justice John Wallace Jr., chose the Democrats’ map over the Republicans’, saying that he decided on theirs because the previous map was drawn by Republicans.

Little changes made

The new map made minor changes to three districts that are part of Hudson County – the 8th, 9th and 10th Congressional Districts.

North Bergen, Guttenberg, West New York, Union City, Weehawken, Hoboken, Harrison and East Newark are still part of the 8th district. The one significant change made is that Bayonne is now fully part of the 8th district, rather than being split between the 8th and 10th districts.

Jersey City remains split between the 8th and 10th districts, with the new boundaries separating the city through Journal Square. The Heights and Downtown are part of the 8th district, while the south parts of the city that include Bergen-Lafayette, the West Side, and Greenville are part of the 10th district.

Jersey City remains split between congressional districts under the newly appointed map. Screenshot via New Jersey Redistricting Commission.
Kearny also remains split between congressional districts. Screenshot via New Jersey Redistricting Commission.

Kearny also remains split with some adjustments made. South Kearny continues to be part of the 8th district, with now all of the northern part of the town being in the 9th district. Lastly, all of Secaucus is still in the 9th district.

The geographical changes have not altered the partisan makeup of the districts, which remain heavily Democratic and are all represented by Democrats.

The more significant changes to the districts happened outside of Hudson County, where multiple Democratic incumbents who were seen at risk had their districts shored up to help their chances of reelection in the 2022 midterms.

Who’s running so far

With the congressional midterm elections approaching next year, at least one district in Hudson County will see a new face in 2023, with Rep. Albio Sires, a Democrat who represents the 8th District, retiring after his current term ends.

Since his announcement, much of the establishment has already lined up behind Robert Menendez Jr., the son of U.S. Senator Robert Menendez, to succeed Sires in the seat. Progressives in Hudson County will most likely put up a challenger following a primary battle last year between Sires and progressive candidate Hector Oseguera.

In the 9th District, Rep. Bill Pascrell, a Democrat, announced last week that he will run for reelection. Over in the 10th District. Rep. Donald Payne Jr., a Democrat, is facing a primary challenge against progressive Imani Oakley.

The filing deadline for congressional elections in New Jersey is on April 1, 2022, with the primaries taking place on June 7.

For updates on this and other stories, check and follow us on Twitter @hudson_reporter. Mark Koosau can be reached at or his Twitter @snivyTsutarja.