Home News Bayonne News

Here are Hudson County’s congressional primary candidates

North Hudson's 8th District will see the most candidates in 2022 Democratic primaries

A number of candidates will be running in the 2022 primaries in New Jersey.

The petition filing deadline for the 2022 congressional elections in New Jersey has passed, and with it begins the official midterm election season for the Garden State.

The three Hudson County-based seats in New Jersey, the 8th, 9th and 10th congressional districts, will see a number of candidates running for the House of Representatives. The districts themselves saw minimal changes during the redistricting process, remain heavily Democratic leaning, and are represented by Democrats.

8th Congressional District

The 8th District will have the most candidates of any of the Democratic primaries in the entire state, with Rep. Albio Sires, a Democrat, retiring after his term ends in 2023.

The district includes North Bergen, Guttenberg, West New York, Union City, Weehawken, Hoboken, Harrison, East Newark, the northern half of Jersey City, the southern half of Kearny, and all of Bayonne. With the seat being left open, five Democrats have filed to run for it.

The Democratic candidates include Robert Menendez Jr., the son of U.S. Senator Robert Menendez; David Ocampos Grajales, a health care start-up worker from Jersey City; Brian Varela, a former Chris Christie staffer and the CEO of a marketing firm in North Bergen; Ana Roseborough-Eberhard, a public school teacher from Weehawken; and Eugene Mazo, a Rutgers’ elections law professor from Newark.

Menendez Jr. is the establishment’s favorite to succeed Sires, having received endorsements from officials all across Hudson County, as well as Gov. Phil Murphy and U.S. Senator Cory Booker. Grajales is running as a progressive candidate, while Varela has positioned himself as an anti-establishment candidate.

Roseborough-Eberhard, who officially announced her candidacy yesterday, is focusing her platform on public education, green communities and recreation centers for teenagers, and supporting DREAMer’s. Mazo has not announced his candidacy as of yet.

Marcos Arroyo, a housing inspector from West New York, is running unopposed in the Republican primary.

9th and 10th Congressional Districts

The 9th Congressional District, which includes Secaucus and the northern part of Kearny, will see a rematch from 2020. Rep. Bill Pascrell Jr., a Democrat, is running unopposed in the Democratic primary, and will look to face Billy Prempeh, a former Air Force member who previously ran against Pascrell and is also running unopposed in the Republican primary.

In the 10th Congressional District, which includes the southern part of Jersey City, Rep. Donald Payne Jr., a Democrat, is facing two challengers in the Democratic primary: Imani Oakley, the former legislative director of the New Jersey Working Families Alliance, and Akil Khalfani, the director of the Africana Institute at Essex County College.

The two Republicans running in the Republican primary in the 10th District are Garth Stewart and David Pickney.

How to vote

The primaries will take place on June 7, with early voting taking place from June 3 to 5. Voters have until May 17 to register to vote in the primary election, and have until May 31 to apply for a mail-in ballot. To learn more on how to vote, visit nj.gov/state/elections/vote.shtml.

For updates on this and other stories, check hudsonreporter.com and follow us on Twitter @hudson_reporter. Mark Koosau can be reached at mkoosau@hudsonreporter.com or his Twitter @snivyTsutarja.

Exit mobile version