Sep 05, 2012 | 1435 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print

Question: In high school baseball and softball, runner on first base; batter lines a ground ball up the middle as the second baseman dives but misses the ball. Fielder is lying flat on ground and runner from first base leaps over the prone defender in advancing to second. Is this a legal play by the runner? Is runner called out for leaping?

Answer: Legal play because defender was flat on ground (BB – Rule 8, Sec. 4, Art. 2(b); SB – Rule 8, Sec. 6, Art. 10).

Question: Runner on first base; batter grounds to second baseman who bobbles ball, gains possession in hand and swipe tags runner with glove for an apparent force out. Legal put-out?

Answer: Runner is not out. During tag play, defense must apply tag with ball in glove or tag by ball in hand (BB – Rule 8-4-1(h); SB – Rule 8-8-7(b)).

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet