Ask the Ump!
by Mike Lynch
Sep 13, 2018 | 343 views | 0 0 comments | 14 14 recommendations | email to a friend | print
FIELDING

QUESTION
: In high school, baseball and softball, runner on second base; one out; batter-runner hits a foul fly ball which is caught by right fielder. The fielder’s momentum takes him / her into dead ball territory. Is runner awarded one or two bases?

ANSWER: In both sports, this catch and unintentional carry play results in a one base award for the runner; hence, runner goes to third (BB- Rule 8, Sec. 3, Art. 3 & Awards Table; from time of pitch)

(SB- Rule 8, Sec. 4, Art. 3, I; from last base touched when fielder entered dead ball area).

QUESTION: Batter-runner hits a foul fly ball down left field line. Fielder has one foot completely in dead ball area while other foot is entirely on foul ground as the catch is made. Is this a legal catch?

ANSWER: (BB ONLY: Legal catch because two feet were not in dead ball area. Rule 2, Sec. 9, Art.1 & Casebook). (SB ONLY: No catch because one foot was entirely in dead ball area at time of catch. Rule 2, Sec. 9, Art.5, d).

Comments
(0)
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet