Contacting the ball
Nov 04, 2009 | 2206 views | 0 0 comments | 556 556 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Question: In high school volleyball, if a ball hits a player’s head and goes over the net into opponent’s court, is this legal contact?

Answer: Legal contact of ball by any part of body; hence, ball remains live and in play. (Rule 9, Sec. 4, Art. 5)

Question: If a player lifts the ball, palms up, using either one or both hands, is this a legal play?

Answer: Lifting, pushing or allowing the ball to have prolonged contact/visibly resting on player’s body are all considered illegal contacts. (Rule 9-4-5)

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet