by Mike Lynch
May 11, 2011 | 2199 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Question: In high school baseball, team A is using the designated hitter (DH); if team chooses to substitute for the DH as either a pinch hitter or pinch runner, does the team lose the DH status? Can the DH re-enter?

Answer: Substitution for the DH is allowed without penalty; sub becomes the new DH and the starting DH is permitted to re-enter only in the same batting slot. (BB-Rule 3, Sec. 1, Art. 4)

Question: In high school softball, if a substitute is not listed on the lineup card, is she allowed to enter the game?

Answer: Inaccurate lineup card is penalized with an initial warning to the head coach; sub is added to the card and allowed to play. For a subsequent lineup error, the head coach will be restricted to the bench but the subs may play. (SB-Rule 3, Sec. 1, Art. 3)

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet