Oct 10, 2012 | 1293 views | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print

Question: In high school girls’ and boys’ volleyball, the second hit by receiving squad, Team R, rolls along a ceiling beam on its own side of court and ball then falls onto same side of playing court. Does ball remain in play? Is this a replay?

Answer: Play continues because ball fell to same playing side of court. This is not a replay (Rule 2, Sec. 2, Art. 1).

Question: If a player unintentionally serves ball before first referee’s signal/whistle to serve, is a replay granted?

Answer: Yes. Replay is permitted (Rule 9, Sec. 8, Art. 1c). If action was deliberate, an unsporting conduct penalty (yellow card) is assessed the server (Rule 12, Sec. 2, Art. 9h).

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet